Welcome to the Bears' Den


News/Upcoming Events


Alumni Meeting Minutes

Meet the President

Alumni Weekend

Golf Tournament


Junior Bears Invitational

Friday Night Hockey

Alumni Objectives

Business Directory

Casino Night

Coach Drake

Email Directory

Fundraising Activities

Photo Gallery


Contact Us


Untitled Document

2018 2015 2014 2008 2006 2005 2000 1999 1992 1986 1980 1979 1978 1975 1968 1964

With head coach Clare Drake and five veterans from their previous two national championships teams with the Canadian Olympic Team, the Golden Bears faced a daunting challenge to extend their University Cup winning streak to three. Led by a core of veterans, newly appointed head coach Bill Moores, who had served as an assistant coach under Drake, molded a team that included 11 freshmen in the lineup, including four of their six starting defencemen. After finishing first in the Canada West Hockey regular season with a 20-9 record, Alberta was defeated in two straight games in the conference playoff final by the Calgary Dinos. Following the defeat it appeared that the Golden Bears were done for the season, but with the University Cup host Regina Cougars winning the GPAC conference championship, Alberta earned the sixth and final berth in the national tournament.

Entering through the back door as a “wild card” entry, the Golden Bears proved their worth with a perfect 3-0 record. All-Canadian goaltender Ted Poplawski made 24 saves to backstop Alberta to a 2-0 win over Calgary in the opening game of the tournament and the Golden Bears advanced to their fourth consecutive final with a 4-3 win over Concordia. The host Cougars advanced to their first final with 7-4 and 5-2 wins over Moncton and Guelph. 

In the championship final, Joel Elliott and Danny Arndt each scored two goals and an assist and Garnet “Ace” Brimacombe added three assists to lead Alberta to its third consecutive title. Seven Golden Bears - Ted Poplawski, Larry Riggin, Bruce Rolin, Mike Broadfoot, Jim Lomas, Chris Helland and Barrie Stafford – were on each of Alberta’s three championship teams.


All content contained on this website is copyright © 2021 Sportzone Internet Services and University of Alberta Goldenbears Alumni
Website Design and Development by Sportzone's Sports League Software